Some people think the most important element of a person's life is work. Without a satisfying job, life is meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognized that work plays the most vital role in each person’s life. Life becomes meaningless if there are no job satisfactions. While work truly is an indispensable part of life, I firmly believe that a satisfying job is unnecessary.

Granted, work is an important factor in meeting people’s demands. Such work facilitates each person’s ambitions and dreams, and personal development. For example, wealthy life, remarkable achievements, or chances to be exposed to many colleagues and new friends expanding social relationships and coherence, all of which are deeply rooted in activities of work. This, as a result, offers people a sense of happiness and fulfilment, paving the way for them to motivate others to put in more effort. In this sense, the unemployed are likely to face severe social issues such as homelessness and starvation, hindering national development and raising government burdens.

However, I am resolutely convinced that job satisfaction is not an instrumental factor to each person’s meaningness. This is because registering a job depending on preference rather than personal abilities may deprive career prospects, leading to many failures in the long run. For instance, football is undeniably a king sport and also a work that most people over the world are interested in; however, some players in VietNam decided to pursue professional football path regardless of their competences, negatively impact on the whole team’s results. This, in turn, hampers not only their efficiency, but also opportunities to be involved in other work. Basing a job on genuine abilities may frustrate and demotivate people; nevertheless, their competence contributes significantly to career growth in the long run.

In conclusion, while most demands of each individual are obtained by engaging in a job, and the lack of work in society might cause severe consequences, I maintain that the satisfactions in a job should be disregarded, as they render failures more serious and alarming.