some people want government to spend money on life on other planets, however, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Space exploration is a multifaceted issue that has frequently ignited divergent perspectives. Opinions are divided on whether governments should allocate funds in search of life on other planets in the cosmic or whether such an investment is wasteful as myriad problems on Earth have not been tackled yet. This essay will delve into the two views and I gravitate towards the latter.

Advocates for the suggestion that public money should be subsidized for seeking extraterrestrial life may argue that untapped potential out there in the universe can result in a more favorable living environment compared to existing life on Earth. Humans are facing a multitude of nature-related degradation such as climate change, environmental contamination, and natural resource depletion, thereby making living conditions more severe and challenging. These proponents may believe that if humans seek out any other seed of life in the cosmos, the existing hurdles will vanish accordingly. However, this belief is flawed; since inherently human activities are the culprit of our current catastrophe. Life could be destroyed once again on a new planet unless resolving these problems.

Furthermore, despite space exploration holds allure, I am more convinced that government buffers should be channelled into social issues on Earth before investing in looking for lives on other planets. Indeed, the search for extraterrestrial life requires a great deal of substantial financial and human resources, but the outcomes so far have remained an uncertain endeavor, so to speak. It is imprudent to perpetuate this when such an investment could divert into more pressing problems relating to human survival such as poverty, plague, and ill-education. We need to survive to await that day! Moreover, due to the lack of governmental subsidies, inventions such as lab-grown meat dealing with the dearth of food sources or alternative energy coping with fossil fuel exhaustion are still not accessible to the general public. Hence, I opine that it would be better if government funding could be channeled to solving immediate problems and revitalizing life on Earth.

In conclusion, governments should take precedence in the quest to address terrestrial challenges on Earth upfront over exploring the unknown beyond the Earth. After all, what good is exploring the universe if we cannot maintain our home planet? By focusing on Earthly matters first, we can ensure that our planet remains habitable and prosperous for generations to come.