Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the expectation of the prisoners’ reintegration, some people argued that educating adolescents about the perils of turning to a career of crime through holding conversations with these individuals surpasses other methods. While I accept that this phenomenon might be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that there exist more feasible teaching strategies.

Admittedly, entitling criminals to impart the repercussions of wrongdoing to teenagers could play an integral role in decreasing the crime rate. Owing to receiving punishments including non-custodial sentences, and incarceration, prisoners who are released back into society could render realistic evidence about the reverberations of committing a crime, predisposing and shaping students personalities. Not only does the crime rate plummet, but also offenders are given a chance of rehabilitation. However, implementing this educational strategy might be susceptible of the risk of selecting prisoners who are devoid of repentance to educate, leading to the spread of aberrant ideologies which could breed future offenders.

Due to the menace mentioned above, by no means does the implementation of this method outstrip other ways of imparting. There are several feasible solutions to this issue. For fear of the method’s counter-effect, there is a need for strategy-makers to replace offenders with police. To illustrate, police could also provide insights about the crime ranging from the full weight of the law to life behind bars. Nevertheless, unlike prisoners, police possess a higher level of commitment to educating students to become law-abiding citizens. Furthermore, many teenagers regard police as emblematic figure of justice and therefore they have a disposition to believe and adhere to the police’s guidelines, resulting in a lower crime rate. Besides, curricula at school should be a combination of moral lessons and academic training. Teachers could utilize programs such as criminal documentaries and interviews with victims as reliable sources to educate children about the dangers of committing a crime. These videos might arouse students’ compassion, which could deter them from breaking the law.

In conclusion, although permitting prisoners to hold conversations could do wonders for raising awareness of students, there are two more different steps to mitigate the issue, including the involvement of police and the innovations in teaching strategies.