Universities should prioritise teaching practical skills over theoretical knowledge. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A significant proportion of the public argue that practical skills should play a larger role than theoretical education in universities’ curriculum. While there are various aspects that contribute to this claim, I believe that to find the balance between these two sides is the most effective education system generally. However, it also depends on students’ individual goals.

First and foremost, in today’s world universities try to prepare their learners to the roughly competitive job market. At the real life sector, practical skills have a more distinctive place. Since, the majority of educational institutions only give in class courses rather than labs or practices, fresh graduated people face many struggles when it comes to find a job. Because they know the basics of the work will done, but they find hard to implement this solid background in real projects. For instance, an engineer who find a chance to observe production flow in facilities before graduation will adapt more easily to work, rather than someone who learned this manufacturing environment just in classes. It is clear that practical skills provide an undeniable advantage in the real world for recent graduates.

On the other hand, theoretical knowledge is the milestones of academy. For a pupil who aims to continue in an academic path, instead of work life, theory is more considerable. Hence, these students will become professional instructors one day, they must have wide capacity to teach others and for enhance literature quality. For example, when a teacher gives feedbacks to their students based on their homeworks, she must have the capability to explain rights and wrongs with a proper structure. This is why a solid theoretical background is an obligation.

In conclusion, in the light of aforementioned arguments, generally an education process should focus on both practical skills and theoretical knowledge, while the importance of these two aspects could change individually depending on preferencies. I partially agree with both ideas.