Some people work for the same organization all their working life. Others think that it is better to works for different organizations.

Nowadays, most employees prefer working for a similar company, while others choose short-term contracts. In my opinion, staying in the same organization would give a sense of stability and professionalism.

On the one hand, people who like challenges and adventure will choose the opposite. Moving from one corporation to another lets people learn different ways of working, which makes workers’ skills more useful everywhere. Another point is that this gives employee a bigger work circle. They meet and work with many more people in different places, which benefits for professional network. For example, a manager who has acquaintances from different jobs can easily get a new job or find a solution for an unknown question from their job.

On the other hand, there are clear ethical arguments for one career life. Firstly, deep knowledge gained over a long work time, makes a worker valuable in a company. Secondly, a lifelong career within a single organization provides a safe job and promotions. Staying put often means your job safe, and more likely to move up for the career ladder. For instance, starting as a store clerk and becoming a store manager in the same supermarket chain after many years of work. Additionally, staying for a long time can give benefits that are hard to move, like a big retirement fund or extra vacation time, such as getting a good pension plan because of working for the government or a large bank for 25 years.

In conclusion, while there are people who prefer changing agencies, in my own view it is better to stay put to become a high-level boss.