Some poeple think that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken

AIR POLLUTION IS A PERSISTENTLY RISING PROBLEM IN TODAY’S URBAN WORLD. HUMANS ARE TRYING TO FIND WAYS TO CURB IT. SOME ARE OF THE OPINION THAT INCREASING THE PRICE OF FUEL WILL HELP REDUCE THE PROBLEM, WHILE OTHERS ARE LOOKING AT OTHER SOLUTIONS. IN MY OPINION, SIMPLY GIVING THE COST OF FUELS A HIKE WON’T BE AN EFFICIENT WAY TO BEAT AIR POLLUTION.

INCREASING THE COST OF VEHICLE FUELS WILL FORCE PEOPLE TO OPT FOR PUBLIC TRANSPORT RATHER THAN TAKING THEIR OWN PRIVATE CARS OR BIKES, ETC. HIGH PRICES WILL PREVENT FREQUENT USE OF FUEL-RUN CARS TO RUN QUICK ERRANDS.

HOWEVER, THIS IS ONLY A SHORT LIVED SOLUTION. A RISE IN PRICES WILL ONLY AFFECT THE LOWER TO MIDDLE INCOME HOUSEHOLDS AND WON’T THE PINCH THE POCKETS OF THE WEALTHY BY MUCH. MOREOVER, THERE ARE OTHER FACTORS THAT ARE FAR MORE IMPORTANT THAT ARE CAUSING AIR POLLUTION IN THE CITIES. FOR EXAMPLE, MANUFACTURING PLANTS THAT EMIT TOXIC FUMES, BURNING OF CROPS THAT PRODUCES CARBON MONOXIDE, ETC ARE EQUALLY CONTRIBUTING TO AIR POLLUTION.

THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO FORM DIRECTIVES AND ORDER THE FACTORIES TO REDUCE THE PRODUCTION OF TOXIC FUMES BY EITHER PURIFYING THE GASES OR BY USING ECO-FRIENDLY METHODS OF PRODUCTION. ESTABLISHING LEGISLATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS AND DIRECTING THE FACTORIES TO ABIDE BY THEM BY GIVING THEM SOME INCENTIVES LIKE TAX BENEFITS COULD ENCOURAGE THE PROCESS. DECREASING THE BURNING OF FOSSIL FUELS TO PRODUCE ENERGY IS ALSO A MAJOR CAUSE BEHIND AIR POLLUTION. THIS CAN BE CONTROLLED BY INVESTING IN RENEWABLE SOURCES OF ENERGY LIKE SOLAR AND WIND POWER.

IN CONCLUSION, EVEN THOUGH RISING THE PRICES OF VEHICLE FUEL COULD HAVE AN IMMEDIATE EFFECT ON REDUCING AIR POLLUTION, BUT FOR A MORE PERMANENT AND LONG LASTING SOLUTION THE GOVERNMENT ALONG WITH THE PEOPLE MUST LOOK INTO USING ALTERNATIVE SOURCES OF ENERGY THAT DOESN’T POLLUTE THE AIR.