Some say schools should focus on academic subjects, while others believe they should also teach life skills. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is believed that education system tend to develop hard skills that soft skills. However, the part of individuals consist that it is crucial to teach life skills. While theoretical knowledge can be significant for understanding the science system, practical skills can be very profitable for the future career of the students. From my perspective, education should combine teaching practical skills and hard skills as it can lead to positive consequences.

On the one hand, education should putting more effort in developing academic studying, as theoretical knowledge aim people to understand the whole system of science better. Therefore, individuals which have hard skills seemed to be more qualified specialists in their field of studying than those ones who do not have them. For instance, according to the opinion poll in the USA in 2018, the lion’s share of teachers noted that fundamental knowledge helped their students to be successful in the olimpiads.

On the other hand, education may facilitate the development of practical skills of teenagers and young adults in order to help students to be successful in their future career, as practical skills are very demanded in the working process. If people know how to use their knowledge in a practical way, they can find the solutions of working issues faster. For example, the president of the USA noted in his speech in 2019 that practical skills have to be developed in students as employees with practical skills are more demanded in various areas.

To sum up, leaning hard skills can provide people with knowledge which is essential for understanding the whole system of science, at the same time life skills are necessary in working process. From my point of view, education system should encourage the development of both practical skills and hard skills as it helps students to be well-rounded individual. Moreover, it can help individuals to be more successful in the working process.