Some school leavers ask their parents for advice while choosing their future profession, others turn to their friend s for some ideas. What are the pros and/or cons of following parents' and/or friends' advice in choosing a career?

Choosing a career path is an inalienable part of our lives. Our entertainment, happiness, success and many other spheres of life depend on it. And, as a rule, we prefer to consult with our friends or family about such essential decisions. What would be better in this case?

On the one hand, it is easier for your family members to make a prediction about high-demand jobs, because they have more experience. For example, my uncle graduated from the Faculty of Information Technology due to his mother’s insistence and he has been successfully working in this field for 15 years now. However, there are also parents who try to incarnate their own frustrated dreams through their children.

On the other hand, friends can better understand your desires and intentions and give you advice based on this, because you belong to the same generation. For instance, my father’s best friend proposed him to become a doctor, because he is a smart, kind and talented person, and this advice became decisive in his life.

So, both friends and parents, being our support, have an impact on our future choices. In my opinion, parents’ points of view is more valuable, because they have already built their careers. But, anyway, we should make the final decision by ourselves, because nobody will live this life instead of us.