Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for their study

After completing higher secondary education, many students go for travelling to explore their surroundings and some join in workplace in order to gain real-life experience which help learners to develop maturity and particular skills instead of admitting to university. From my perspective this development has both positive and negative effect on students; I firmly believe that it has more advantages than disadvantages.

On the one hand, having finished school not going to university first has several merits. Firstly, students can get chances to refresh their mind and explore the unknown which help them to gain real-life experiences. For instance, individuals can go for a long trip after finished their school life to take a break from hectic education life that help them to unwind their mind and prepare them for new start. Secondly, they can also improve their skills by entering professional life that will familiar them with work environment. Finally, people have chance to take right decision for their career. For instance, when students get involved in professional life, they will understand their pathway of career that will assist them to take correct decision for their upcoming future.

On the other hand, although there are various advantages for not going university after schools, it has some drawbacks. The main problem would be study gap. If people are reluctant admitting to university after leaving school, it will create a long study gap. To illustrate that, students who have completed their school education enter in job life or go for long trip instead of going university, then, a study gap will create. As a result, this study gap may impact in their mind to lose focus, eventually not going to university.

In conclusion, many school leavers prefer to go for vacation or enter job life after finished higher education rather than admitting to university. This development varies students to students. Even though, there are certain demerits of not attending to university, I strongly believe that it has far more advantages in some context in terms of gaining real-life experience, develop skills and career improvement.