Some schoolchildren dislike learning maths. What might be the reasons for this? What might be the best ways to make learning maths enjoyable for schoolchildren?

Some share the view that school pupils are not keen on mathematics. There are several reasons why they do not like, however, which can be tackled by teachers using more engaging methods and encouraging children by giving real-life examples while conducting lessons.

School children do not like math due to a range of factors. One of the main problems is related to difficult theories, which might be hard to acquire. However, this is not only a reason which gets more problematic with the atmosphere where children are studying. As the number of pupils is high in a classroom, it can cause more distractions coming from noise through the room, which may lead pupils to understand main concepts poorly. Another issue is about traditional methods used by teachers. It is obvious that all math classes consist of explaining what they should do, then giving different tasks. Therefore, this cannot be an effective approach while studying math, that there are lack of real examples and more interactive ways to teach. For children, everything might be seen challenging and unprecise, which are a way to lose interest and not to learn meticulously.

Notwithstanding possible reasons why children dislike math, potential ways also find to make learning process more enjoyable. Firstly, the government should organize classes having maximum 12 or 15 pupils, which helps to have more comfortable environment far from distractions. Children also tend to learn new information when they have real-life examples or illustrations, and this approach also might be a way to make mathematics lessons easier, such as explaining how to use concepts during calculating money or listing products before having a shopping. One way also might be using modern methods while teaching such as gamification or visual sources pictures, videos. As children are living in a virtual world, using technologies and various games like Kahoot! helps to grab pupils’ attention rather than just explaining during the whole class.

In conclusion, some reasons which make lessons boring and difficult such as difficult theories, lack of real-life illustrations, and basic teaching methods can be definitely addressed by using interactive methods and making classes more compact, which are the ways to keep balance making classes to become suitable for modern teaching conditions and making them more engaging.