Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In the contemporary era, it is not uncommon for students to have mobile phones. While these devices play a significant role in learning and research, phone access is restricted on many school grounds. I believe banning mobile phones and other devices leads to various positive outcomes such as enhancing learning and promoting equality among students.

Banning mobile phones can advocate for equality between students. This is because students come from different backgrounds and not all can afford these expensive devices. When pupils are allowed the possession of their phones, many would feel inferior because they may not have one, this leads to the development of unwanted feelings like jealousy, envy, and hatred among youngsters. These feelings of inequality are harmful to students at such a sensitive age and can lead to a multitude of drawbacks in the future. Therefore, restricting mobile phones on school grounds promotes equality and prevents unnecessary comparisons among pupils.

More importantly, the restriction of mobile phones improves learning. Phones divide students’ attention and distract them from important educational classes. This is because individuals have the constant urge to check their devices for unimportant notifications and updates and this, therefore, reduces their attention span in the classroom and affects them academically. It is also difficult for teachers to control each student, making banning phones the easier option. Therefore, restricting devices allows students to dedicate their attention solely to learning thus ensuring their academic success.

In conclusion, while mobile phones are essential in everyday life, I strongly believe they should be banned on school premises. This can improve youngsters’ learning experience by reducing distractions, improving learning, and advocating for equality among students.