Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In recent times, individuals especially students are linked to their electronic devices, therefore many schools have chosen to ban phones on school grounds. Some might argue that phones ensure safety to students, while I believe that this is a positive step towards maintaining a focused, private school environment.

Restricting phone use in classrooms can improve focus for students. This is because, without these devices, less distractions are available for students. For example, students engage in multiple videos and text messages on their device which derives their focus from the lesson to their device. This ultimately leads to the student not engaging in classroom activities, not understanding the main lesson and teachers wasting precious teaching time to regain the student’s attention. Therefore, phones must be banned on school grounds to help students concentrate in important lessons.

Banning electronic phones on school grounds gives privacy to students and teachers. Without these phones, students don’t have access to cameras to take pictures of their fellow peers and teachers. For example, in an all-girls private school located in Saudi Arabia, a student could picture her classmates in a sneaky matter, post them online through various social media platforms for the world to see. This leads to a sense of unsafety and a lack of privacy in the classroom environment. Forcing strict banishment rules on phones gives privacy to all individuals in the classroom.

Many school faculty members have banned cellphones on school grounds to help children maintain academic success and conduct a safe private school environment. This is clearly a positive step to improve students and teachers lives.