Some students after leaving school go travelling or work instead of going to university Does this have more advantages or disadvantages to their studies?

It is common to see some students choose to go sightseeing in other countries or start working after their high school graduation instead of applying to university. This trend has more benefits than drawbacks to an individual’s academic life.

Starting with the setbacks, there is a plausible adverse side to taking a gap year on a student’s personal life. This is because high societal expectations and norms, particularly by parents and peers, are commonplace. Specifically, in some nations, particularly in Central Asia, the stereotype has been instilled and passed down by older generations that an optimal and secure way to lead a great life is to pursue a higher education after school. This means that some parents might let their children shoulder the responsibility of self-care and travel around the world without any support. Were children to refuse to follow this obligation, their parents and relatives are likely to place a heavy burden on a student’s life by causing extreme pressure through their offensive words and actions. This, consequently, may take a massive toll on a youngster’s mental health, making them feel akin to animals residing in tiny cages.

Nonetheless, rejecting to go to university immediately may have imperative and substantial advantages. One of which is the clarification of the path or career that a person might pursue. There are a plethora of high school students who are skeptical about their future, or some may even fail to understand and choose a path after finishing school. Yet, not rushing to university after the completion of school education might help youngsters clarify their future and learn more about themselves: strengths, weaknesses, and preferences. This action is surely one of the initial steps to build a sophisticated life in the long run. Social media managers might be a vivid and reasonable instance. Most digital marketing companies do not require proof of higher education or a diploma while choosing qualified candidates for this role. They test all applicants through complex tests to see whether they are skilled or not; however, spending 4 or more years of life might be a waste of time, so a gap year is the only option to make a wise choice.

To conclude, this case is advantageous in every way. Advantages, such as the clarification of life, are more valuable and beneficial to a student’s studies than its disadvantages like societal norms and pressure in this case.