Some students have a background, identity, interest, or talent that is so meaningful they believe their application would be incomplete without it. If this sounds like you, then please share your story

“One day I’ll compete in the Olympics and you’ll be proud of me.” I said to my mom after my first competition, where I had taken the first place.

This is the story of my unyielding will in sport, of my hardships, injustices and triumphs. And how one case can change a life.

I started my sport career at the age of four. Even then, the zeal for various activities and competitions was already with me. My mom enrolled me in the local soccer section. Recruitment was from six year-old age, but because of my great desire, I was taken. I trained myself on a level with guys who were bigger and stronger than me, but I never gave up and trained myself very hard. But at the first tournament, we were beaten to a pulp.

By coincidence, the next day, my mom and I went skiing. It was a family tradition. For a four-year-old boy, I was very good at skiing. And when mom got distracted, I took off down the slope without her. At high speed, alone, in the middle of a crowd of people. Until nothing had happened, I stopped to wait for her at the bottom, next to a tall stranger. She soon found me and was very frightened, but the man turned out to be a ski mogul coach. “Your son is an amazing skier, how old is he”. “Four.” replied the mom. He was impressed and offered us a spot on the team. Turned out there was a city competition the next day to which I was invited. I hadn’t had a single practice, but I believed in myself.

The competition was over, the awarding ceremony was underway. They announced the third place. They announced the second place. “I guess I need more training.” I thought, and I started to walk away. Suddenly they announced my name and caledl me to the podium. I took the first place without a single day of professional training. My eyes were burning with joy. My mom was jumping out of the crowd of people cheering for me. That coach was literally in shock. And since that day, for thirteen years now, I have been skiing. In addition, in Kazakhstan, our eastern region is the only suitable region for freestyle mogul. And this has played a big part in my sport career. I trained myself on the same mountain as Olympic medallists. Like Yulia Galysheva. Who mentored me and motivated me to take big steps in the sport.

I have taken a part in competitions in many different countries and won a lot of prizes, but I shall always have that first medal in my heart.

But unfortunately, I didn’t make it to the Olympics this year because of the financial circumstances of my country. This has shaken my desire for sports, but I will always believe in the best and never give up!