Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, high school seniors either pursue college or enter the workforce after graduation. However, these days, a third option—a gap year, where students defer university enrollment to travel or work—is gaining traction. While this idea has some merit, I believe that the negative effects of this growing trend are more glaring.

There are several compelling reasons why delaying tertiary education for one year can be advantageous to a certain extent. First of all, a gap year affords new graduates time to travel and immerse themselves in different cultures, which helps them enrich their life experiences and hone their practical skills1. Secondly, given that most high schools provide inadequate career guidance, spending several months looking for jobs or attending vocational training courses will empower students to identify a suitable career path2. Such experiences would be hardly attainable if high school graduates enroll in university and become occupied with their intense study schedules.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I contend that taking a year-long break could do more harm than good. A major drawback is that gap-year takers may fall behind in their studies and face peer pressure, which could possibly drain their self-confidence3. In addition, high school seniors can lose momentum, finding it hard to resume their education after a long time away from formal schooling4. Last but not least, these young people are unlikely to save up money or cultivate relevant job skills during their gap year, as jobs available for high school leavers are often entry-level positions that neither pay well nor teach them anything substantive5.

In conclusion, while the potential benefits of deferring university enrollment seem appealing, the drawbacks outweigh them.