Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

These days, many people may recommend that if young people took a job before attending university, they would get lots of benefits. However, it is agreed that full-time jobs may have drawbacks for young people. In this essay, I would like to explore the pros and cons of working before carrying on with your education at university.

First of all, once students have graduated from school, their knowledge about the job market is very limited. Thus, it could be better for them to find a job and gain hands-on experience. Moreover, they can save up their income to apply for university. Furthermore, young employees will achieve independence by renting a house when they can make ends meet. In addition, taking time out between school and university will help students to find out their favorite fields of study.

On the other hand, many people oppose working before university. They believe that young people may forget the courses that they have studied at school and also children might forget the habit of studying. Another disadvantage of being employed is that you may lose the opportunity to apply for the field that you like. Moreover, your salary could be fulfilling and can make you change your decision about continuing education. Also, it is agreed that high-profile occupations such as doctors, could be achieved by highly educated people and you may lose your opportunities to find better jobs if you don’t obtain educational skills.

To sum up, the disadvantages of working instead of going to university, outweigh the advantages. Hence, everybody should consider their future aims and their characters before making up their mind. As far as I am concerned, educated people can be more successful than uneducated people.