Some systems require students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. Other systems require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of these two education systems and which is better?

In recent scenario, educational policies make sure that students are exposed to vast spectrum of subjects and interests. However, the age at which the pupil is allowed to chose his own path is still controversial. Some systems require them to focus on specific subjects from the age of fifteen, while others mandate students to pursue range of subjects for a longer duration. Though both ideas have their own advantages, the former would be more impactful.

To initiate, allowing pupils to focus on certain subjects of interest in their adolescent period can give a early exposure and longer time to gain expertise. This method is the stepping stone in the emergence for prodigies and child inventors. To cite an instance, Pragnanadha, the chess-master of India, focused on his career at an early age, which took him to the pinnacle of world chess at a tender age. Similarly, Nikola Tesla, the under appreciated scientist, entered the world of physics at the age of 16. Therefore, such personalities are the testimony for early success.

To march ahead, Students concentrating on wide range of topics allow them to analyze everything and pick up interests which suit them for their higher education. As youngsters are in state of constant confusion due to their puberty or harmones, these methodologies allow them to make right decisions when they are sufficiently mature. To exemplify, interviews with many undergraduates suggest that the people who joined late for their colleges are less likely to regret their decisions. Additionally, it also allows one individual to get recognized in different fields.

In a nutshell, though the latter approach allows children to master in many subjects and gives scope to contemplate and make the right decision, the former method does better job in nurturing revolutionaries and great personalities.