Some think that ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

A school of thought holds that it’s essential for people to be ambitious. The purpose for this essay is to discuss both side of this personality and then explain why I consider that ambition is a necessary trait.

First of all, there are both upsides and downsides of being ambitious. On the one hand, excessive ambition can lead to numerous detrimental impacts on our mental and physical health, which is to blame for the downfall of the overall well-being and happiness. For instance, people who are obsessed with success often suffer from mental problems such as depression and anxiety, moreover, they may not be hesitate to sacrifice their health to achieve their goals, which cause even more mental instabilities. On the other hand, ambitious people’s dedication to pursue their objectives can make their life more meaningful and interesting, since without goals and a achievements, life will be completely dull. Furthermore, developing vital and useful skills such as professional skills, time management, etc…is demanded if an individuals want to commit to their goals, paving the way for self-improvement. For example, university students, who have to be serious with their career, need to develop their professional skills from various sources while learning how to manage their time well, communicate efficiently, or building social networks ,as well.

From my perspective, ambition is vital for the attainment of not just great achievements in life but also self-development, especially for the youth. Moreover, ambitious people are usually be pushed by their ambition to conquer whatever are missing from their life. As a result, they will always find reasons to live and will find life meaningful.

In conclusion, despites the negative impacts of excessive ambition regarding detrimental influences on one’s well-being, I still believe that ambition is a essential characteristic to achieve great achievement in life and to improve oneself day by day.