Some think that ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

The multi-culture assumption states that ambition is a good characteristic. To be honest, the benefits it confers make me believe that it is essential to achieve this personal trait, however, it also has several downsides.

Granted, the significance to be ambitious is undeniable due to many advantages it provides, chief among them is its role as a life-direction navigator. This can be seen in the unemployed, it is obvious that when they do not have professions, they seem to feel lost and tend to do unproductive activities, such as watching TV or scrolling on their phones for a whole day. In a worse case, they might do petty crime such as pickpocketing or smashing stuff, and likely end up being a burden for family and society. However, it is believed that if these individuals set goals for themselves, they possibly become a useful cell in society. This line of reasoning proves the remarkability of being ambitious.

Of course, there are many cases of failed attempts to pursue goals, and the implications are notable, such as mental and physical exhaustion or even the tendency to suicide. However, if being ambitious is in an appropriate and responsible way, it will benefit people, such as encouraging people to pursue their achievements. The case of the ambitious students illustrates this, through their effort and consistency to work hard in order to gain the best result. Similarly, the athletes with the record-breaking goals often force themselves to train harder, and even if they do not reach their achievements, their strengths and skills are improved considerably, rather than those who do not have enthusiasm. Two aforementioned examples are among many ones expressing impressive accomplishments of the people who have the desire to reach their aims.

In conclusion, while acknowledging the negative sides of being ambitious, there are many successful figures to prove that their obtainments are attributed to this personal trait, thus, there is no excuse for having ambitions to pursue goals.