Some think that quality art can be made by anyone while others think that it requires special talent and ability. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some believe that art ought to be left to talented professionals while others believe anyone can make worthwhile pieces. In my opinion, talent is a complex concept but its lack of clarity does not make it any less crucial.

Talent, particularly in a subjective field such as art, is indefinable. It is impossible to determine the interplay between talent and genetic predisposition, upbringing, personal qualities like perseverance, motivation, luck, and practice. Research into sports has shown the importance of genetics but that is largely because of the athletic requirements. Good hand eye coordination, superior spatial sense, and linguistic prowess may give one a talent advantage in the arts but many technically skilled artists produce lifeless, unoriginal art. There are simply too many unknowns as to what informs talent and how this translates to subjective works to make a definitive appraisal of its value.

However, let us make no mistake: talent is important for all human endeavours and art is no exception. The term itself may be hazy but there is no doubt in practice that certain individuals can create stirring masterpieces and others cannot, regardless of how much hard work they put in. A good example of this would be in music. Some bands and artists toil away for years without making much of an impression while others, like the Beatles and Mozart, were successful from a very young age. John Lennon and Paul McCartney’s lyrical gifts and understanding of melody were present for them in their early 20s and few other individuals, professional or amateur, in their entire lifetime have had the talent to reach their heights.

In conclusion, though it is difficult to define, good art requires talent. There is therapeutic value for amateurs but great art with universal appeal is the prerogative of the gifted.