Some universities now offer courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether online courses provided by some higher-educational institutions bring more benefits or drawbacks. From my perspective, this trend is more advantageous.

Firstly, it is understandable why some people think the above suggestion is detrimental. This is because, to offer these courses, universities have to allocate funds and make a detailed plan for constructing these programs; additionally, teachers also need to prepare for or be involved in projects. This requires significant effort and is time-consuming. Therefore, some universities may not ensure the same educational quality as with on-campus courses. Another downside of online courses is that students participating in Internet-based courses cannot guarantee their learning outcomes themselves. Apparently, there are countless distractions while learning on the Internet; for instance, social media platforms, recreational videos, etc. Therefore, academic performance may decline unless students maintain their discipline.

However, I firmly believe that the benefits of gaining knowledge through online courses are more significant. This is due to the fact that, with only simple technological devices, students from all over the world can access unlimited educational resources. Hence, there are no boundaries of time and location for comprehending knowledge. This leads to the potential ability to become a global citizen in the future. One benefit of virtual courses offered by universities is that it decreases the economic burden on students. Such a benefit is especially important for pupils who cannot afford college tuition. As a result, there will be less discrimination in access to knowledge between developing and developed countries. For example, students can comprehend and apply content from online-based data on Coursera without any barriers.

In conclusion, it is apparent that virtual courses from colleges offer more advantages than disadvantages. With adequate funds and effort, we can easily address the downsides faced by educators and students.

There has been much controversy about whether online courses provided from some higher-educational more benefits or drawbacks. From my perspective, this trend is more advantageous.