Some universities now offer courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether virtual courses bring more benefits or drawbacks. From my perspective, allowing individuals to study from the comfort of their homes is more disadvantageous.

On the one hand, there are several positive aspects to learning online. One advantage of studying through Internet-based courses is that it provides flexibility and convenience. The reason for this is online programs are available anytime and anywhere, students from any distance can join in the digital classroom easily. Consequently, students are likely to be more active and flexible in scheduling their studies around other responsibilities. To addition, e-learning education would also assist working adults or single moms to access quality education.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the drawbacks are more significant. One obvious negative impact is that pupils can be distracted. Studying at home, however, could possess various distractions such as notifications from mobile phones or noises from vehicles transporting nearby. This could possibly lead to lack of focus and poorer academic performance.

Moreover, students would have little interaction with other people, especially classmates and professors. This is because they are unable to engage in in-person conversations and face-to-face meetings while learning virtually. As a result, students who enroll in distant learning may find it challenging to finish the cooperative tasks such as group assignments and group revisions. Therefore, it could be strenuous for subjects that require collaboration.

In conclusion, it is apparent that learning on the Internet may bring about several positive aspects. However, I believe the negative one are stronger.