Some universities now offer their on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development.

In this age, online courses are gradually being replaced face-to-face teaching approach in many universities. While digital learning courses can have detrimental impacts on students’ performance, I still assume that it also bring a lot of benefitial effects to learners.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why online courses could be negative with students. Firstly, learning via computers or mobile phones’ screen absolutely minimize the genuine interaction and communication with instructors and peers. This reduced the accoutability, which often results in lower participation rates and lead to an overall decline in leaning outcome. Furthermore, this educational model limits the development of crucial soft skills. When students utilize online platform to study, there is a little chance to practice teamwork and real-time discussions. As a result, the reduction in spontaneous group discussions and in-person collaboration can hinder the development of social competence and vital employability skills.

On the other hand, despite being detrimental with students’ performance, online learning also offers a wide range of benefits to users. First and foremost, online courses provide flexibility and convenient to students, meaning that learners at college nowadays can select optional lessons that suit with their personal schedules. A particular example is the National Economic University in Vietnam, the school’s council have implimented and applied online courses to assist students balance the study process with the hobbies or occupations. Moreover, not only digital courses help pupils have fitted timetable, it also help people remove the barriers to acess to higher education, it means that students who have disadvantageous background and live remote region can engage in an online course to study at college and academy.

In conclusion, while the potential for reduced academic engagement and interpersonal skill development must be acknowledged, I maintain that this trend is predominantly positive due to its convenience, flexibility, and extended reach of online education.