Some university students live with their families while studying, but others prefer to move away from home. Do the benefit of moving out to attend university outweigh the disadvantages?

Some students stay at their family home while attending university,but others students decide to move out. The advantages of moving away from home to attend university do not outweigh the drawbacks because the main disadvantages are the cost of living and the lack of focus on studies, whereas the only advantage is learning to be independent.

The first disadvantage of living away from home is the increased cost of living.That is to say that there are extra costs such as accommodation that don’t need to be paid by those who stay with their families.As it usually takes four years to complete a university degree, these costs put considerable strain on an average family’s finances.

Another downside is that students who move out of home tend to be less focused on their studies. Because they have nobody making sure they attend university every day, they are far more likely to skip lectures when they are tired or not in the mood. When l was at college, for instance, it was very rare for someone who lived with their parents to miss a lecture, which was not the case for those in rented accommodation.

However, there’s the advantage in having more independence. Students who live away from family are responsible for all aspects of their lives and need to complete household chores that their family members would otherwise complete. From these responsibilities, they become more independent,and this independence generally translates into other situations as well. In