Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time ad attention to studying for a qualification

There is a prevailing belief among many students at universities that they should invest in learning skills that have no relation to their major of study, while others hold the view that this is an unnecessary development because it distracts their focus from their main courses. This essay does not find the latter opinion compelling, as it is crucial for individuals to ameliorate in several aspects to become more adept in professions that they may opt for after graduation.

On the one hand, some people agree with learning new abilities that have no obvious connection with their academic field of study due to the fact that they can augment the possibility of being helpful. That is to say, the more an individual works on fostering a novel expertise, the higher the chance of finding a proper career and higher revenue in the future. Take a mechanical engineer who tries to learn the PHP programming language as a salient example. Although there is no need to possess such a skill, it tends to lower the likelihood of being unemployed after graduation.

Those opposed to this say that when students focus on other subjects, they have less time and energy to consume on the study of their qualification. As a result, an abundance of them may fail their assessments or become reluctant about their academic goals. Despite this notion, many studies show that students concentrating on multiple subjects are more capable of developing multidimensional cognitive skills, including critical thinking.

In conclusion, despite the idea of focusing on one subject in academia to have more time and energy for it, many studies have substantiated the notion that the more people vary their abilities, the better their career outlook and mental skills may be.