some workers are facing challenges to find work-life balance. what are the reasons and solutions?

In recent times, living in a poor work-life balance has become the standard rather than the exception, especially in developed countries like France, the UK, and the US. While there are compelling reasons why people struggle to strike a balance between work and life, including the fiercely competitive job market, I believe that people can take effective measures to address the problem.

Without a doubt, the driving force behind poor balance between work and other aspects of life has to do with the significant competition in the global market. With the incorporation of artificial intelligence and automation into business processes, the competition in the job market has intensified, thereby encouraging both large corporations and small enterprises to raise their hiring standards and impose demanding work conditions on employees. As a result, many individuals now work longer hours, handle heavy workloads, meet tight deadlines, and accept burdensome tasks in order to make ends meet, provide for their families, and gain a competitive edge in the global job market, thereby depleting their time and draining their emotional bandwidth. Given these overwhelming responsibilities, it comes as no surprise that many people are struggling to settle a good balance between their professional and personal lives.

However, in my view, to address the problem of unhealthy work-life balance, governments should take the responsibility. This can be accomplished through introducing shorter work weeks, dividing working hours, and giving more holidays and vacations for employees, as well as restricting companies, which usually operate in the evenings. Without these measures, many people may continue to struggle by juggling multiple responsibilities and accept burdensome tasks, thereby leaving little to no time for their familial and recreational priorities. In a world where the cost of living has spiraled out of control due to high inflation and people are stretched thin and under constant pressure, it is of added significance for governments to take strategic measures in order to help citizens to maintain a healthy work-life balance and improve their overall quality of life.

In conclusion, although poor work-life balance can be attributed to the fierce competition in the workplace, I contend that governments can alleviate this situation by implementing practical measures.