Some young people look forward to a year of traveling or working, ‘a gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own experience.

A number of younger generation people wait their period of traveling, a “gap year”, before they start work or go to university. One side thinks that it’s a chance to expand their horizons, but the next side minds that it’s an expensive waste of time. In general, everything have benefits and drawbacks.

First of all, in fact, it gives you time to understand what you want to do in your life, because nowadays we have a lot of kids who live at school, but they don’t know who they are and who they want to be. For example, all of my life I was thinking about to go to study in international relationship, but lately everybody says that it’s not good to go there. On the contrary after two months I need to submit my documents to university. However, I don’t know where. And in that time a gap year will help me. Also, that doesn’t guarantee you will find yourself, because if you don’t have a plan or goals for your gap year, you might waste time and not learn much about yourself. For instance, another friend of mine spent her gap year traveling and enjoying herself but didn’t gain any new skills or experiences that helped her in university. Consequently, she found herself behind her peers when she finally started her studies and felt that the year was wasted.

Furthermore, you will have more time to prepare for university applications, such as gathering documents for financial aid or studying for SAT and IELTS exams. This extra time can help you improve your test scores and increase your chances of getting into a good university. For example, my sister during her gap year, was able to focus on studying for the IELTS, which helped her achieve a higher score. As a result, she received a scholarship that I might not have gotten otherwise.

On the contrary sometimes it happens that even if you have good results you may not accept, you may have problems with your documents, or something, anything can be. Maybe you’ll get very upset later that’s why you wasted a year.