Somebody thinks that it is good to be ambitious. How important is it to be ambitious? Do you think it is a good characteristic?

In today’s competitive world, humans should possess personalities that help them to survive in many outstanding people. As a result, it is suggested that ambition is one of the characteristics people need to acquire. From my objective, I believe that being ambitious plays a vital role in this modern era but will disadvantage people with this personality.

Ambition will have beneficial impacts when living in this fast-paced world. Ambitions aligning with passion will create the determination to set, pursue, and accomplish goals. Despite encountering obstacles and failure, people can overcome these challenges because of ambition. For example, most Asian students are eager to get good grades to be top one in class so that they will be admitted to top universities. Moreover, ambition will encourage people to conquer absurd dreams and even change the world. For instance, some scientists like the Wright brothers invented the airplane and turned the world into the modern era with the Industrial Revolution with a great deal of determination.

Although ambition can change people’s lives without a doubt, it has many consequences. People with lots of ambitions will be motivated to complete their goals. Therefore, they will allocate excess hours to their work and study without any concern for their physical and mental health. Subsequently, they tend to have physical and psychological diseases as they get older. Furthermore, they will see their friends and colleagues as competitors if they have the same goals and dreams. Consequently, people will be self-fish, envious, and even greedy because their friends are people’s obstacles on the journey of being successful. This will tense the relationships, and they can mutually harm themselves.

In conclusion, being ambitious can help people gain determination and complete their goals in the future. However, it is very unhealthy if people have too many ambitions which can negatively affect their relationships and their lives. Thus, people should have moderate determination and eagerness so that they will become successful people have happy lives.