Somes countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The crime proportions are growing in some countries and therefore become difficult to deal with. There is a belief that increasing the number of police officers on the streets is the only approach to decrease offences. Although such an idea seems reasonable, I am completely against that viewpoint.

To commence, there are some reasons why some believe that having more police on the streets can reduce crime. Firstly, that approach can act as a deterrent against offenders because they always have a fear of being caught when committing a crime on the streets. Shoplifters, for instance, may not dare to steal commodities since they know that they are being monitored by policemen. Secondly, this can enhance the monitoring frequencies of police stations to society. Indeed, there are more surveillance due to a larger number of policemen who are always willing to cope with emergencies, leading to minor chances for offenders to break the law.

Despite the aforementioned reasons, I argue that a rising number of street police is not enough to tackle the increase in crime rates. The foremost rationale is the current emerging number of cyber criminals. Due to technological advancements, such as the Internet and artificial intelligence, there are more criminals on the virtual world. As a consequence, police stations have to integrate technological professions into their system to fully tackle lawbreakers. Furthermore, there may be multinational crime organizations that cannot be tackled with any single country. As a consequence, promoting the association among nations seems to be a reasonable measure to hinder international criminals. This potentially leads to the reduction of international crime rates.

In conclusion, some believe that an increase in police on the streets is the only method to tackle the rising crime rates because it can deter offenders against breaking the law and promote the surveillance of police stations. Nevertheless, there are more measures to consider, including the addition of professions to the police stations and collaborations among nations, to decrease the number of cyber and international criminals.