Somes countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that increasing crime rates in countries is one of the major problem facing. For that, some people reckon that police can mitigate the illegal acts so that there should be more of them on places where people live. Even if being more police officials on the streets is good way to reduce crime rates, I believe that there are more other regulations that government should introduce.

Firstly, police officials are entrusted with the authority to suppress criminal activities, which is why they are believed to be effective in doing so. Thus, any lawbreaking acts can be reduced or prevented by them. For example, in neighborhoods with frequent petty theft or vandalism, police may increase patrols to deter these crimes and making their presence known to people is important to prevent further incidents. Therefore, when having more police officers on the streets could maintain increased public safety. Secondly, police sometimes hold workshops and community sessions on topics like internet safety or personal security. This education helps the public avoid becoming victims and proactively reduces crime.

However, community programs, education, and social support systems also play a crucial role in crime prevention, beyond just deploying more officers. Firstly, governments should organize youth programs where after-school activities, mentorships and community centers can keep young people engaged and away from potentially harmful activities. I believe that strengthening community bonds and fostering a sense of mutual responsibility can help deter crime. Furthermore, for former offenders, rehabilitation programs have to be integrated, since this kind of programs can make criminals more sociable and may prevent further misconductions.

In conclusion, although having more police on the streets can be important to avoid crime, I still hold the view that community engagements and social supports are more needed to combat offences.