Somes countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s rapidly changing world, offence has become a growing concern for the general public due to increasing crime levels. Many people hold the view that police presence on the street is the only way to diminish offence. From my standpoint, I disagree with this opinion because there are many alternative measures to tackle this problem.

First and foremost, having more police on the street is ineffective when confronting modern crimes. These days, criminals have become more sophisticated, including cybercrimes, which pose a serious threat to society. While increasing the number of police officers merely may discourage petty crimes such as theft and vandalism. Furthermore, criminal activities can be attributed to many factors including lack of education, parental neglect, poverty, unemployment, etc. Hence, addressing the root causes of crime is essential for creating long-term social stability.

However, to struggle with an increase in crime rates, a wide range of solutions can be applied. One of the ideal approaches is that raise public awareness of criminal activities’s adverse consequences, especially among the young generation. According to statistics, people who commit a crime are often juvenile delinquents. It is necessary to teach children about the serious effects that criminal offence could have on their lives long term. Additionally, it is should be implemented harsh punishments such as longer prison sentences, and even the death penalty for people who commit serious crimes including murder or kidnapping. Besides, there should be more surveillance cameras in high-crime areas to ensure the safety of those living in such areas.

In conclusion, while increasing police officers may reduce a certain crime level, it is not regarded as the only approach. The combination of many solutions such as raising public awareness or imposing stricter punishments will achieve long-term crime rate reduction.