Space exploration has been an ongoing field of research in the 21st century. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exploring space? Do you agree that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Exploring outer space has been actively in progress over the past century. I believe the benefits of this field of research are more significant than its minor drawbacks.

Space exploration costs governments exorbitant amounts of money. Every year, a great deal of money is spent designing new space shuttles and advancing technology to explore outer space while there are urgent problems to solve here on earth. An illustration of this is the money spent on launching space probes on the moon. This money could resolve poverty and illiteracy in numerous regions around the world to provide higher standards of living for the inhabitants of the earth.

Nonetheless, the primary advantage of space exploration is scientific and technological advances. Acclimatizing to zero gravity and solar radiation, astronomers and scientists have had to devise new technologies, which have led humankind to spectacular scientific breakthroughs. An example of these advances is satellites orbiting the earth’s atmosphere, which have provided us with Wi-Fi and internet hot spots facilitating communication and precise calculations to predict storms and volcanos, saving millions of lives annually. Another merit of researching space is the opportunity to look for another habitable planet. The reason for this quest is that while planet Earth has been nourishing us for millions of years, it has limited natural resources, such as drinking water. As a result, the idea of colonizing another planet that sustains life could ease off this concern. Mars is an example of a planet, which has been explored as it is believed to hold hidden reservoirs of water, providing long-term sustainability. Indeed, the outcomes of this field of science have been substantially beneficial to everyone equally throughout the world.

In conclusion, even though space exploration projects are too costly, I believe everyone has been immensely befitting from modern technologies, originated from space exploration.