Sports stars are paid too much for what they do.

In today’s world, professional athletes have enormous salaries, sometimes they can be more than millions of dollars per year. While sports require dedication and skills, their financial rewards are extremely higher than those of other employments. I completely agree with this point of view and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples.

Firstly, one of the biggest issues is the unfair salary between sports stars and other more essential professions such as doctors and teachers. For instance, doctors save the lives of thousands of people, which increases our population or teachers who give their knowledge to the community and provide us with quality education. At the same time, athletes are just entertaining people on social media and wasting their time. If sports star salaries were the same as those of important employments, it would create a fairer society.

Another reason why I agree with athletes overpaid is that they make millions from advertising, not only from playing. Big companies pay them enormous amounts for simply promoting their product. For instance, Nike signed a 100 million dollar contract with a well-known basketball player to advertise its brand. This means that they often earn money not for hard work but, conversely through their fame, which leads to financial imbalance.

On the other hand, there is an argument that professional athletes ensure plenty of achievements and give some fame to their country, however this does not justify their privileged position. I strongly believe that, national prestige is dependent on progress in science, medicine and other fields, which are often undervalued.

In conclusion, although it is a common belief that sports stars efforts are worthy of respect, I think their salaries are overpaid. While their contributions to entertainment and national pride are significant, their earnings should be more balanced in comparison to those of other important employments.