Sports stars are paid too much for what they do? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that in the contemporary context, it is common to observe well-known athletes being paid a plethora of money. While the vast majority of people hold the view that it is unfair to pay such amount of money for them, I partly agree with this statement owing to the fact that sports stars, in the majority of cases, possess unique and exceptional talents, as well as come across with physical risks.

On the one hand, there are some reasons tempting me to support this statement, the initial one of which is undercompensation of other professions. To elaborate further, it is increasingly common to see that well-known athletes are giving much higher salaries than other professionals, including doctors, teachers, policeman and engineers who tend to put their efforts for the economic growth, as a result of which it is highly likely that young generation might be discouraged to be specialists. Furthermore, this tendency is unfair to the poor people who tend to work hard so as to be able to make a living to feed their family. To be more precise, despite economically challenged individuals’ diligence and dedication, they are not capable of earning such amount of money as sport celebrities who are making money without any challenges just for their performances. Therefore, I presume that other occupations should not be neglected in terms of the amount of money they receive from their work.

On the other hand, there are some factors making me stand against this concept. First of all, it is obvious that plenty of sports competitors have extraordinary, along with natural abilities, such as speed in sprinting, strength, mastery of complex movement, leadership skills and so on. To look at it from a different angle, these unique and outstanding aptitudes contribute sportspeople to correspond the quantity of money that they receive because of the fact that these kinds of skills are the reflection of their physical and mental efforts to reach the pinnacle of the sport. Another aspect of my agreement would be putting their life in danger, particularly extreme athletes. For instance, such sporting professionals who are involved in rock climbing, skydiving, jumping and boxing tend to threaten their life due to the nature of these sports, as a consequence of which they may have severe physical and mental injuries, including body trauma, neurological damage and consciousness. Thus, I suppose that it is objective to compensate them with high salaries.

Having taken all the highlighted aspects above into consideration, I concluded that even though numerous people consider paying too much money for sports celebrities to be unfair, still I believe that people should not depreciate their labor as they are putting their life in risk. Personally, I reckon that both sides of the argument should be considered in equal major.