Some people think that those who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unfortunately, there is a widespread belief that those who travel abroad tend to be more open-minded and empathetic toward others. From my point of view, I do not completely agree with this statement, as tolerance and understanding are mainly shaped by a person’s character, mindset, education, and family upbringing rather than by travelling itself.

First and foremost, I believe that empathy and tolerance are deeply connected to the way a person is raised, the environment where they grow up and a group of people the person is communicating. Also individuals who come from respectful and open minded families are more likely to accept people from different cultures, religions, even if they have never travelled abroad. For instance, I know a lot of people who never traveled abroad, but due to their family upbringing, they are so tolerant and empathic towards other people. As a renowned writer Gara Garayev once stated, “Family is the root of personality”, and I strongly agree with this opinion because it plays a huge role in how people treat each other’s.

In addition, I strongly believe that education and access to information play also a significant role in shaping a person’s worldview. Nowadays, people can learn about different traditions and lifestyles through books, internet without physically visiting another country. Furthermore, the government also play a significant role in this field. For example, Azerbaijan is considered a multicultural and tolerant country where people of different religions live together peacefully. In cities such as Baku, it is common to interact with foreigners, work or study with them.

In conclusion, although international travel can contribute to becoming more openminded. However, according to me, tolerance and empathy depend on personality, education, family values, and social environment.