Some people think that those who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that those who have traveled abroad have more tolerance and understanding of others. I completely agree with this statement, as traveling enhances broadened horizons and improved adaptation skills.

First of all, traveling abroad provides broadened perspectives on life; individuals who opt for staying in a home country without leaving it once tend to be more close-minded, while meeting some human beings from other countries enables one to receive new insights, diversifying one’s views. People around the world have peculiar traditions and beliefs; therefore, observing and experiencing each contributes to the extension of perspectives. For instance, if a person from America would travel to a poorer country such as Afghanistan or Pakistan, watching how people live in poverty and suffer a lot, it will make them become grateful and be patient towards disagreeable situations.

Another point is the ability to foster adaptation skills. Being in a foreign country requires one to adjust to an unfamiliar surrounding and live in a not usual way. A clear example for this is tourists who settle in a strange environment for them and respectfully conform to the unwanted entry, which is a clear act of tolerance.

In conclusion, traveling means extended perspectives and being able to adapt to any environment; thus I believe that travelers are extremely tolerant and understand others easily.