STEP 1 - Read the task WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is argued whether the schools are too competetive, and what impact it can have on children. While I understand the downgrades of competitive environment, I believe that it is essential to grow and impove skills. This essay will consider both points of view.

Some people say that thriving for a good mark can be harmful for kids, in some cases even leading to bullying children based on their academic abilities. From my experience, sadly, this is a common practice not only among the students but teachers too. However, I assume that the root of the problem is not the will to get a better mark but a system itself. Teachers need to be more educated and learn more about emotional intelligence, and psychology and should not share their negative opinions of students in public.

On the other side, the competitive environment encourauges children to achieve, to participate in contests and grants. If there was no need in getting a good SAT score, maintaining an excellent GPA, doing upstanding activities to get to university or to get scholarships, children, probably, would not do it. We can compare it to the sport – without the competition there would not be any improvements. So the thrive to be better than others can be a reason people learn and achieve.

To sum up, modern schools are competitive. I believe that the environment like this is essential for children to achieve, however, it has some drawbacks and need to be monitored and controlled by qualified teachers and specialists.