Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is helpful for students, it has many negative effects, and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern, fast-paced world, internet has become an integral part of our daily routine and is no longer an accessory but a must. This integration has also made its way to education, which by extension means also students are now dependent on it, resulting in two conflicting opinions on its impact. While efficient and easy, I believe that internet usage should be hindered for students, limiting their access but not banning it.

First and foremost, students’ reliance on the internet has resulted in the almost complete abandonment of libraries, rendering the skill of researching obsolete. While books can get outdated quickly, hence why students resort to getting their information online, some theories are valid on the long run. Therefore, students must be taught how to extract their information from books correctly rather than just looking it up online, where they might end up getting wrong information.

Secondly, with the rise of Artificial intelligence, students are losing their educational integrity by utilizing AI sites in schoolwork. Due to online learning, most students nowadays turn to AI whenever they are faced by any minor difficulty rather than trying to work it out themselves.

If students stop using their mental capacities to overcome any difficult schoolwork they come across, either tests or simple homework, then they have surrendered to a lifelong sentence of complete dependance on technology rather than adapting and increasing their knowledge. As a result, students should only use school-approved devices, whether at home or in schools, to avoid the harmful usage of AI in their education journey.

In conclusion, it is true that students are becoming dependent on the internet. Therefore, the education sector should hinder the students’ reliance on the internet by teaching them the skill of research and monitoring their usage of AI websites to ensure that they are not harming their educational progress.