Many argue that learning a foreign language should be compulsory in schools, while others contend that it should be optional. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, considerable debate has arisen over whether schools should require students to learn a foreign language.Opponents argue that schools shouldn’t force individuals to learn languages, and it should be optional.While I acknowledge the advantages of learning a foreign language, I disagree with the view that compulsory learing is overall beneficial for self-development.This essay will discuss both perspective and present my opinion.

On the one hand, acquiring a foreign language remains essential for students’ career development.If they have the ability to communicate fluently, they’re more likely to stay competitive in the future job market.International communication has become crucial due to globalisation.High level of language skills provides not only an oppotunity for students to broaden their horizons through travelling or studying abroad but also a valuable strength for employment.For instance, my uncle possesses the highly paid job becuase he excels in six differnt languages.

On the other hand, compulsory learing hinders students from identifying their own passions.In modern society, although language skills remain important ,computer skills also play a vital role.Instead of consistently pushing students to learn a language even when they perform poorly at it, I strongly believe that the more effective approach is to help them identify and develop their own hobbies.An increasing number of schools provide an alternative option for students to study such as vocational curriculums.

In conclusion, although learning a foreign language brings certain benefits, compulsory learning is not only ineffective but also negative for students’ self-development.Therefore, a balanced approach should be implemented.