Students learn far more with their teachers than through other sources (the Internet or television). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that individuals who are studying learn more effectively from teachings with their tutors compared to the use of other forms like social media. I totally agree with this because classroom teaching helps to reduce distractions, maintain focus and allows interaction and participation.

To begin with, learning in the classroom takes place within a fixed schedule, thus minimizing distractions, enhancing attention and optimizing focus unlike studying with the use of phones and other devices where messages and notifications pops up leading to reduced concentration. For instance my friend and I realize that we find it difficult to understand a topic when we make use of YouTube videos to study, and this is because whenever a notification comes up from an app, we switch to the app immediately. I am of the opinion that students learn better from their teachers as they are more attentive and less distracted.

Furthermore, face-to-face tutoring is more interactive, it allows the learners to ask questions, give feedback and participate actively in their learning process. This is not the same with E-learning where students only listen to the presentation of the speaker and are unable to voice out their concerns or opinions. For example a study conducted by Jude et al. (2023) on assessment of teaching methods used by teachers in Federal Government College Lagos State showed that 80% of the students performed significantly better under direct classrooms instruction compared to those engaged in virtual learning. This suggests that full participation during class activities have a stronger positive impact on students’ academic performance.

In conclusion, learners who experience physical teaching from their tutors gain more than those who learn from other methods, this is because tutors share personal experiences and real life stories during classes thereby making the topic more engaging, interesting and easy to understand.