Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree?

The performance of students at school will enhance if they are granted for their actions instead of being given punishments. On this essay I will explore both angles, and give my own perspective on this phenomenon.

Being rewarded is an indispensable part of success at school as some of the people believe. Every single time when students achieve their goals has to be given particular attention. These initiatives will drive the schoolchildren to pursue more and more ambitions, leading to the success and recognition that will be handful in their long term future to study or work in a prestige university or job. Another point is that, giving presents for their good studies, will trigger positive emotions in pupils. Knowing that their achievements possess even a little bit importance, their spirits automatically improve causing in enriched well-being and health.

From another angle, punishing young learners is also crucial at schools as some individuals think. After being granted for their accomplishments several times, some students become idol. It is because of the belief that they harbor that they have already achieved their potential and now after all their hard works have paid off, they can finally relax. This will lead to bad behaviors of the students and not doing efforts anymore by easily giving up. This procedure will result in the transformation of pupils from hard-working to lazy individual, closing all opportunities of becoming a successful person in the future.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that both sides share equal importance at school. Rewarding learners for their hard work and dedication will encourage them to study hard while also promoting the laziness and decreasing their consistancy.