Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree?

In schools, an overwhelming number of students are studying. Some of them have higher IQ levels,while others have lower receptive senses. To encourage those weak children, some people believe that schools should reward them, whenever they notice a little improvement in their students, rather than penalize them.I largely agree with this assertion as it pushes pupils to perform well in all academic subjects .

To begin with, it empowers children to become more proficient in any particular subject.To explain, majority of students find mathematics and science subject quite arduous and these are the subjects in which they are more likely to receive low marks, but at the same time if mentors appreciate them regardless of their lower marks, they will perform better next time; obviously, by thinking that their teacher will give even a bigger reward next time than the previous one, and then pupils will do much more hard work and will strive to get a higher marks in those subjects. For example, teachers can give them a small gift such as pen ,pencil, or notebooks, which not only makes them happy but also encourages other child to do a work hard.

Moreover, if teachers punish them , it can prejudice children’s overall well being.To exemplify, they will suffer from mental illnesses such as anxiety, depression and this will take a toll on their physical as well as mental well being.Consequently, they will develop a timid behavior.For instance, some students reluctant to go to the school every morning by making excuses like headache and stomachache, but in reality, they are scared of their teacher’s rigid behaviour.

However, some parents contend that giving rewards can hinder their kids progress. To illustrate, children will give a rise to unrealistic expectations .Every time they will deliberately skip some questions in their exam paper , even though they know all the answers to get a lower marks , so that they can obtain a reward.

In conclusion, Although some people are against giving rewards to their offspring in school because they believe that it will influence them negatively, I believe that advantages of this phenomenon take precedence over few possible disadvantages as giving a reward acts as fuel which pushes students to progressive growth trajectories.