Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree?

There is a prevailing opinion that honors are more effective ways in promoting student performance compared to harsh discipline. This essay strongly advocates this view due to the merits of stimulating self-esteem that rewards bring about while punishment instills childhood trauma.

To begin with, recognitions instills a sense of pride and confidence in learners’ abilities. As a result, these rewards motivate them to be more dedicated to continually striving for excellence in their educational journey. A recent study conducted in Vietnam revealed that over 70% of educationalists believe that receiving recognitions for their accomplishments enables the younger generation to not only thrive amidst difficulties but also to keep up with the pace of learning and experience significant growth.

As well as this, penalties create a negative mental condition, leading to detrimental effects on student performance. First, an overreliance on punishment may discourage students’ efforts towards education. This is supported by research carried out by Harvard University, which found that trauma from disciplinary actions is one of the most influential factors in suppressing students’ creativity and hindering their critical thinking. Secondly, punishment can create negative associations with learning. In fact, pressure from study will lead to disengagement and a decrease in academic performance.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate that fostering the performance of young learners at school can be effectively achieved through honors that encourage self-esteem rather than relying on punishment.