Students should focus on learning in the classroom rather than show their status by wearing fashionable clothes. Therefore, all students have to wear school uniforms. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that students have to focus on their studies in class rather than wearing clothes that are fashionable to show their status. That is why schools have a rule for students to wear a school uniform. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement, because as a student we have to ignore all things that are not related to study, like fashionable clothes, so that we can focus on our lessons at school.

First of all, the most important thing that all students have to do is study. As students, we should focus on getting as much knowledge as we can so that in the future we can have a better life. That is the first main purpose of the rule on using school uniforms for all students. Taking Indonesia as an example, many public schools have the same color and model of the school uniform that is used daily, so that even though students come from different backgrounds, they can still can socialize with each other.

On the other hand, wearing the school uniform also reduces the feeling of inequality and insecurity among the students. Inequality and insecurity can become a reason for students to bully other students and wearing school uniforms are one preventive thing that schools can do. For instance, in the United States, many public schools do not have restrictions on the use of school uniform. Students are freely using fashionable wardrobes every day. As a result, many bullying cases exist in the US due to this restriction.

To conclude, I believe that every school must have a restriction about wearing a school uniform. Because of this, students will be more focused on studying and do not think about their fashionable clothes which they have to wear every day. Furthermore, it also decreases the feeling of inequality and insecurity between the students that often occur with bullying problems.