Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The coverage of a full university program may be a burden on students and their families. It is said that others do not need to pay for students’ study because only learners benefit from their education pursuit, not the community. In my view, I definitely agree with this idea because this change could bring positive effects in the long run.

Advocates for providing students with financial aid would state that this meaningful support could help the underprivileged access to education. Due to the significant number of students usually dropping out after secondary school because of not having enough money to pay for the tuition, this budget would allow them to continue their studies. However, the sponsorship could not ensure whether a student will become well-educated and potential in the future workforce, ultimately being the main reason why many people want to help those who are unable to afford education. Therefore, I am more convinced that students should pay for their own educational choices.

One of the reasons forcing me to believe that students should pay the full cost is that they would be more responsible for their decisions. This is because university tuition today can be as high as healthcare, probably leading to debt if students choose the wrong options. As a result, they would evaluate and analyse their preferences and dreams carefully as they know that they have to pay a lot for anything that happens. Moreover, teens these days are likely to change and experience things, compared to older generations who just went straight and ambitiously followed their career path. Paying the full cost should be required so that students can be more serious with their learning and choices, making them focus and work hard in their career. Consequently, many well-trained, ambitious, responsible workers would join our workforce.

In conclusion, financial support is really essential, but asking learners to pay for a whole course would be effective in the long-term development of individuals. They will be mature and more determined in what they are working on.