Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

With much evidence showing the connection between poor education and the likelihood of committing crime, some people believe the best measure to lower crime rates is to provide education within prison. This approach can enhance prisoners’ employability and facilitate social reintegration after prison release. Although crime is a complex issue that demands multiple solutions, I fully agree with the suggestion above because of the Scandinavian practices and the importance of education as a whole.

It is true that crime is a sophisticated matter that cannot be tackled with one universal solution. Felonies and misdemeanours are committed by different individuals from divergent backgrounds, and motives for entering a life of crime can also vary. For instance, a person coming from an area plagued by socio-economic issues can blame poverty and lack of educational opportunities when explaining why the crime happened in the first place. Yet, in the case of a wealthier individual, the reason for a crime can be a totally different one, such as parental neglect (in the case of juvenile delinquency) or inadequate moral values. This comparison shows why we should not be looking for a universal measure, but among all possible ways to reduce crime, providing education is indeed the best.

Sweden, Norway and Finland are some of the countries that have been revolutionizing the way convicts are treated in prison. These Scandinavian states have introduced rehabilitation practices aimed at educating prisoners by teaching them a specific skill set in a rather positive environment. It is not uncommon to see a TV or a fridge in a Scandinavian prison cell, an observation that cannot be made in the majority of countries worldwide. In fact, judicial systems on a global scale favour punishing criminals only, but that may be the exact reason why recidivism – one of the most alarming social issues – is on the rise in these countries.

The importance of education cannot be underestimated. The more educated a person is, the higher the likelihood of following a law-abiding lifestyle. It is unfortunate that millions of people worldwide enter a life of crime due to low levels of education, with some of these people deprived of the most basic educational tools and not having a school diploma. Thus, when they commit a crime and serve their prison sentence, they should have educational opportunities to avoid reoffending.

In summary, while there should be various measures for dealing with crime, providing education to most criminals should be prioritized. After learning the necessary skills, they can be employed when released from prison, thus making it easier for them to survive in the real world.