Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been found that the majority of criminals do not have a decent educational background. Therefore, some regard educating them as the most effective way to prevent crime, since this gives them a chance to find a job once they are released, potentially preventing them from re-offending. Although i support the same view, I believe that coordinating other ways could help reduce crime to a greater extent.

True, a low level of education is one of the root causes for people committing crime. They might struggle finding a job to provide for their family, seeing as they did not receive an adequate education at school. Having been rejected in hiring process multiple times, they may resort to making money in an illegal way, say, committing misdemeanors. In this particular case, providing criminals with vocational training, while serving a sentence, facilitates finding a job in their post-release lives, since they can learn skills needed to enter a workforce. Scandinavian countries, like Sweden and Norway are known to employ rehabilitation programs, another form of the previous, to help offenders reintegrate into society. They report a significant reduction in crime rate, meaning education criminals is one of the most sensible ways to tackle an issue of crime.

That being said, as crime is a controversial issue worldwide, educating criminals does not give the full answer to this problem. In other words, focusing on offenders while they are in prison rather than before they offend does not address crime that effectively. For example, parents and schools should be more attentive to the development of their children; whether they are growing up in a right way or engaging in criminal activities, like gangs and drug abuse to name a few. In addition, some commit felonies, a type of crime which is so severe by nature. With such criminal record, releasing criminals, even after training them in prison, pose a fear on the public. Therefore, those who offended crimes, including murder and treason should not just be freed from prison, but given harsh punishments, which can be longer sentencing or even death penalty.

In summary, recidivism rate can be reduced significantly by implementing educational programs in prison. However, this itself cannot deal with crime greatly, meaning calling schools and parents for being responsible for the behavior of their children, and giving stricter punishments to those who offended heavy crimes should be cooperated to achieve greater results.