Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country, rather than imports from overseas

In the modern world, imports constitute an integral part of the global market system, especially concerning food. According to some people, supermarkets should prioritize the sale of domestically sourced food items over imported goods from foreign markets. I have two viewpoints about this matter, which I intend to express in this essay.

On the one hand, in most cases, citizens can be sure of the quality of goods and products grown in their country. What is more, persons can identify the naturalness of their domestic food. Whereas, the products that were transported through a number of countries (for instance, transportation of exotic fruits) could be exposed to various types of processing and contamination. In addition, the consumption of domestic products could also be useful for the local country’s economy.

The other side of the coin is that without imported products, the diversity of food in our country will be noticeably lower. Doubtless, our nation manufactures a wide range of goods and food, however, without imports from overseas, we would miss out on the chance to experience traditional cuisine from other countries. Perhaps, we should also point out the fact that imports and exports between countries promote global economic development.

In summary, it can be concluded that although the food made in foreign countries gives us a variety of unusual overseas products, everyone should not forget that they can be damaged during transportation, which could be a reason for problems with people’s health. Thus, also to avoid economic regression, individuals must balance, and consume food of local and foreign origin.

260 words.