Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country, rather than imports from overseas

Nowadays, both local and imported products can be found on the store shelves. Some people believe that supermarkets should sell local food products, rather than ones from abroad. However, I believe that doing so will have rather negative outcome than positive.

At the first glance, it seems obvious that selling food produced within their own country will boost local economy, as more customers will buy local products. Moreover, it is clear that food transportation takes a lot of time, money and most importantly, it damages the environment. Cutting food transportation will not only help small businesses of countries, but will also improve much more global problems like destruction of ozone layer.

Even though there are so much good arguments that support selling only local food, I firmly believe that world economy would collapse as soon as this change is implemented. First of all, it is known that at some places, climate or soil are not suitable for growing particular crops. This is why some food products that simply cannot be grown at some countries are imported there from other countries. This will limit the choice of people, which means that fewer people from abroad would want to work in that country and spend their money there, which can damage the economy on a huge scale, especially for multicultural countries like the USA or the UK. Secondly, global trade, which plays a huge role in peaceful life between all countries, will be damaged as well. Some countries that have asurplus of some crops will not be able to sell all products, which will cause inflation

Overall, even though there are so many good reasons why supermarkets could sell only local-grown food products, in my opinion world would not be able to live peacefully if there was no tourism and global trade as a whole.