Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country, rather than imports from overseas

There is a widespread belief that marketing products that were produced domestically is much better than transporting them from outside. Personally, I agree with this point of view, hence this essay is aimed at pointing out some justifications that reinforce this perspective.

One of the main reasons behind that is that prioritizing domestic food positively affects the enhancement of local agriculture and the economic state of the country. Heightened demand for national production encourages farmers and manufacturers to generate more, leading to expanded income. Furthermore, due to the fact that there is no need to transport goods from afar, there would be no expenses for that, meaning the affordability of goods for consumers. Moreover, it has an impact on job opportunities, providing unemployed people with work. Thus, maintaining regional products undoubtedly influences the national economy.

Another thing that needs to be considered is that importing food has a far higher carbon footprint than local production. To transfer goods from abroad, an enormous number of transports, such as ships and airplanes, are used. Due to their massive fossil fuels consumption, there is no doubt that this contributes to the rise in air pollution. This, in turn, results in environmental problems including acid rains, ozone depletion, loss of biodiversity and the most urgent one: global warming. Therefore, the import of products negatively affects the ecosystem around the world.

To draw the conclusion, one can say that markets and shops ought to trade domestic goods, according to their economic and ecological privileges, rather than transferring food from other countries.